Up until the last couple of years ago I’d never really used makeup brushes apart from applying some blusher.  However, once I got hooked on youtube videos and started watching some of the tutorials by Pixiwoo I saw the difference brushes make in applying makeup. Makeup brushes in general can be quite expensive but the Real Techniques range are good quality at a decent enough price.  These are the 5 brushes I would recommend

Powder Brush

A really big brush that is perfect for powder or bronzer

Expert Face Brush

This is a rounder brush primarily used to apply foundation as you buff it into your skin.  However, lately I’ve discovered that this brush works well for contouring as the size of the brush fits perfectly in the hollows of the cheeks.

Blush Brush

A really soft brush that is for what its name would suggest but again could work for bronzer

Eye Brushes

These are 2 brushes I’ve picked from the eye brush collection by Real Techniques.  One is a flat brush used for eye shadow and the other is rounded great for blending in eye shadows

Hope you found this post interesting, let me know in the comments what your staple brushes are

Clare x

9 thoughts on “My Core Makeup Brush Collection

  1. I’ve just done exactly the same! I’m new to using makeup brushes apart from eyeshadow and powder brushes:) I’ve found branching out and spending some money on decent brushes was really worth it! I’m using mostly Real Techniques but i’ve also got an Ecotools powder brush and it’s seriously soft xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

